Categories: AaronDonald

Aaron Donald, Travis Kelce unanimous AP All-Pro Team choices

Dynamic defensive star Aaron Donald and unstoppable tight end Travis Kelce were unanimous choices Friday for The Associated Press NFL All-Pro Team.

Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers was selected for the third time, finishing ahead of Kansas City’s Patrick Mahomes in voting by a nationwide panel of 50 networking members who regularly cover the league. Last year’s Super Bowl MVP shared second-team honors with Josh Allen of Buffalo.

Tennessee running back Derrick Henry, that ran for 2,027 yards to win his second successive rushing title, was termed All-Pro for the first time after leading the AFC South champion Titans to their first division title in 12 years.

“Very consistent, very durable, very impressive,” trainer Mike Vrabel said of the NFL’s first winner of back-to-back rushing titles since Hall of Famer LaDainian Tomlinson in 2006-07.

Donald, who has assisted the Los Angeles Rams to the top-ranked defense in the NFL, made his sixth All-Pro selection. It had been the third party for Kansas City’s record-setting Kelce.

“I think the best display of greatness is making people around you better,” Rams coach Sean McVay stated of Donald. “And that’s exactly what he does, by the way he influences them every single week.”

Mahomes lauded Kelce for how he approaches his job.

“For a guy to have that much talent, work that hard and be able to learn really every single day like that, that’s what makes him so special on the field,” Mahomes said.

Joining Donald and Kelce have been 15 players coming into the group, also 14 newcomers. Seattle linebacker Bobby Wagner also made his sixth largest group.

“The marvelous durability that he’s demonstrated for middle linebacker after all these years is just off the charts,” Seahawks coach Pete Carroll said.

Kansas City receiver Tyreek Hill is presently a three-time All-Pro along with Rodgers, among the favorites to win MVP after guiding the Packers (13-3) to the top seed in the NFC.

Joining Henry as first-time choices among skill players were Buffalo wideout Stefon Diggs, that led the NFL in catches and yards receiving, and Rodgers’ favorite target, Davante Adams.

“For me, frankly, I think that it’s just been finding different small items that I can get better at,” Adams says. “I feel like I’m a pretty complete receiver. … It’s just fine-tuning the things I do well and just figuring out a way to perform them even better.”

Diggs was traded by Minnesota to Buffalo in the offseason and made a huge impact as the Bills won their first AFC East title in 25 years.

“For me personally, it was just in whatever situation I was going to be set in or chosen in, I was just going to adopt,” said Diggs, who finished the regular season with 127 catches for 1,535 yards and eight touchdowns.

The Packers and Colts led all teams with four All-Pros apiece. Green Bay left handle David Bakhtiari, who is out for the playoffs after injuring a knee at practice throughout the last week of the regular season, made it for the next time. Center Corey Linsley has been a first time selection.

Indianapolis has interior lineman DeForest Buckner and linebacker Darius Leonard on the shield, abandoned guard Quenton Nelson on offense, and George Odum as the special teamer. Nelson is a three-time All-Pro, Leonard a double selection, while Buckner and Odum made it for the first time.

Rounding out the crime were Cleveland right tackle Jack Conklin (second selection), and Washington right guard Brandon Scherff (original ).

Also on shield were border rushers T.J. Watt, the NFL’s sacks chief for Pittsburgh who’s on his next All-Pro Team, and newcomer Myles Garrett of Cleveland; San Francisco linebacker Fred Warner (first choice ); cornerbacks Xavien Howard (original ) of Miami, the league’s interception leader, and Jalen Ramsey (second) of the Rams; and safeties Tyrann Mathieu (third) of Kansas City, Minkah Fitzpatrick of Pittsburgh and Budda Baker of Arizona, both for the next time. There was a link between Fitzpatrick and Baker for its next security spot.

The long snapper position is new to the All-Pro Team in 2020, and Baltimore’s Morgan Cox was the choice. Chicago kick returner Cordarrelle Patterson created it for the fourth time. The rest of the special teams rankings were newcomers: Miami kicker Jason Sanders, New England punter Jake Bailey a

Read More

News Bot

Published by
News Bot